Sign in to follow this  
ruby

New Dunkirk Film

6 posts in this topic

I know this is an odd subject, but as this is quite a good forum, I thought I would ask the question here, I am sure there must be some train buffs here.

I was watching the new Dunkirk film, and right at the end where there are scenes from a train carriage. I am not an expert on this, but it appears to me that the carriage is the wrong type, it looks like one from the fifties, nearer sixties, post nationalization. I remember this type from when I used to go to school by train in the late sixties. The carriage trim does not have enough wood for early 1940. Does anyone know any better? I would have thought the film people would have got it right, but looking at it, it seems wrong. I wonder if they filmed it at a preserved railway, where they tend to run British Rail MK1 carriages. I may be wrong, but I would just like a second opinion. 

Incidentally, I searched for a review on the film just to see if anyone had noticed and the Critic from the Guardian raises some really valid points, in that a lot of opportunities were missed, that would have made the film a lot more interesting.

Edited by ruby
Added extra bits.

I didn't notice, sorry. There were a few things like that though - for example a terrible lack of boats on the horizon in some of the cut away scenes that cheapened an otherwise excellent production. I really enjoyed the movie - tightly executed, no flubber, good acting and I thought the ending was perfect.

7 minutes ago, Trinity said:

I didn't notice, sorry. There were a few things like that though - for example a terrible lack of boats on the horizon in some of the cut away scenes that cheapened an otherwise excellent production. I really enjoyed the movie - tightly executed, no flubber, good acting and I thought the ending was perfect.